Showing posts with label drugstore reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label drugstore reviews. Show all posts

Friday, September 6, 2013

Wet n Wild: Mega Last Lip Color vs Fergie Center Stage Collection Lip Color

So similar and yet slightly different. That's exactly how I would compare Wet n Wild's Mega Last Lip Color line to Fergie's Center Stage Lip Color Line.

Lipstick shape- Both are round instead of the traditional lipstick shape that comes to a point

Packaging- Both tubes are made of plastic with clear plastic caps that snap on

*I believe both have the same amount of product- .11oz (but not 100% sure)*

Size of packaging- Fergie collection is taller, but I believe both carry the same amount of product

Formula/Finish- Fergie collection is a bit creamier/hydrating and has a bit more of a shine finish. This is a subtle difference but I did notice a little more ease when applying the Fergie line lipsticks.
L-Mega Last              R-Fergie Collection

Price- Mega Last is $1.99 and Fergie Collection is $3.99

Color Selection: The Mega Last line offers 26 colors and the Fergie line offers 10 colors.

Final Thoughts
These lipsticks are almost identical products aside from it's exterior packaging. I do think the Fergie collection has a slightly more hydrating formula which is nice. I don't know if it justifies a price difference though, as it is just slightly more smooth. I think the price difference has to do more with packaging costs and the fact that it's a celeb branded line. Eitherway, both lines of lipsticks are wonderful! They both offer great pigmentation, last for hours, and are very affordable! The Mega Last line has more colors to choose from compared to the Fergie line, but the Fergie line does offer shades that are different. With that being said though, I purposely used the 2 colors above to show you the 2 lipsticks that I thought were the most similar between the lines. If you own one of those, you could skip on the other. 

*Direct shopping links provided via ShopSense*

Thursday, August 29, 2013

Jordana: INCOLOR Fabuliner Liquid Eyeliner

As a self proclaimed connoisseur of liquid liners, I am always trying to find the next best one. I'm still a die hard fan of Stila's Stay All Day Waterproof  Liquid Liner but my only gripe is that by month's end, it's pretty much dry and done. At $20 a pop, that gets a bit pricey to keep purchasing.

One of my friends was raving about Jordana's Fabuliner and at $2.49 +tax at Walgreens, it was kinda a no brainer to give it a try. (I checked Jordana's website and it's listed for $2.99). Basically this liner is dirt cheap. 

Now, I'm not gonna lie, I'm always up for a good deal but sometimes when a product is really inexpensive, I get a little apprehensive about trying it out. It's still mind boggling to me how a really affordable product can be just as good if not better than a high end product. Aside from organic/natural products which will usually always cost more, I guess we really are paying more for a name brand sometimes. Hmph.

Monday, August 12, 2013

Loreal Miracle Blur: Is it worth it?

Loreal's Miracle Blur is one of the more expensive "creams" at the drugstore that I've noticed. The cheapest I have seen it is at Target for $19.99, but at drugstores it usually retails for about $24.99. That's quite a lot to shell out on one product at the drugstore, yet that's exactly what intrigued me about it. How could this product cost so much?! I had to know.

I have been using Loreal's Miracle Blur for the past couple months now and I have to say, I'm really liking this stuff.

Monday, July 8, 2013

Olay: Fresh Effects BB Cream

I received Olay's Fresh Effects BB Cream complimentary for testing purposes from Influenster (post coming soon on Influenster if you don't know what I'm talking about). I was excited to receive this product because Olay is one of my favorite drugstore brands.

This BB cream retails for around $12.99 and comes in 2 shades: Fair/Light and Light/Medium. I'm about an NC35 and I can kind of get away with Light/Medium but I definitely think there should be darker shade options. This product has an SPF 15 which is nice but it's not water resistant so it's not meant to be used in place of a sunscreen for swimming or outdoor activities that may cause sweating.

*You can visit or Amazon for purchase info*

It comes with 2.5 fl oz. of product which is a decent amount of product. According to the description sent to me, this product claims to provide:
"24-hr hydration and a splash of sheer color. This all-in-one skin perfecter, sunscreen, and tinted moisturizer evens skin tone and refreshes the dullness, for flawless looking skin."

In general, I'm not a big fan of BB creams because I personally need more coverage. I envy those who can get away with a little tinted moisturizer and be on their way.

Tuesday, June 4, 2013

Physicians Formula: Organic Wear 100% Natural Origin FakeOut Mascara

I realized this past month that although I have non-existent lashes and wear false lashes almost everytime I go out, I have this need within me to find/try mascaras in hopes I find that perfect one. I think it's a sickness really but I can't stop. I literally counted 12 different mascaras that I currently have open and semi using...someone call the mascara addicts line, I think I need an intervention.

But whatever, let's add #13 to the mix: Physicians Formula FakeOut Mascara! I wanted to try this because PF is having this promo where if you purchase the mascara with the special packaging that says "Try me for free" you can mail that packaging in with your receipt and they will reimburse you! (click here for the rebate form, ends 10/31/13). So yea, that's awesome but I could never find the special packaging so I just went ahead and purchased it. 

Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Review: Corn Huskers Lotion

What do you call a product that makes your skin soft and costs less than if you were to try and make a DIY version of it? Too Good To Be True Corn Huskers Lotion.

This cheap, ugly packaged, no brand name hand treatment is a damn gem I tell you! This stuff is one of those rare cheap finds that actually works, which in turn makes you all giddy inside. *Disclaimer: grab a comfortable seat or maybe a cup of coffee, storytime is about to begin...

Monday, April 15, 2013

Essence: Eyeliner Pen

As I continue my quest for cheaper alternatives of liquid eyeliners, I came across this particular one at ULTA. I've never used anything from the Essence brand but I have heard good things about some of their products. I hadn't heard anything about this particular product, but for $2.99, it was definitely worth a try.

From my first use, this product reminded me of my absolute favorite: Stila's Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Liner. This was super exciting for me. The liner was nice and dark black, the tip was perfect for precise application and winging out the liner, and it stayed put all day on me. It's not water proof or as smudge proof as Stila's, but for the price I thought this was an amazing liner.

Friday, April 12, 2013

Revlon Precision Dark Lash Adhesive VS. DUO Dark Tone Lash Adhesive

When you wear false lashes as much as I do *cough* almost everyday, it's important to use a good lash adhesive. For years I have sworn by DUO's Lash Adhesive in dark tone. Nothing drives me crazier then when I see pieces of white lash glue dried on the lids or lash band. Yuck.

About a month ago, I saw that Revlon had a dark version of their precision lash adhesive at my local Walmart. It was about $4 and I thought I'd give it a try. I'm so glad I did....seriously, my new holy grail lash adhesive!

Compared to my previous beloved DUO Dark Tone lash adhesive, there are a few things that stand out  to make this product the obvious winner in my book.

Friday, April 5, 2013

L'OREAL: Telescopic Shocking Extensions Mascara

I purchased this mascara about two months ago from Rite Aid and Target and I have been using it ever since. I have to say, it's definitely one of my favorites among all mascaras I've tried and the best mascara I've tried for lengthening.

I have been using both the waterproof and regular formula to see if I could notice a difference. The waterproof mascara is definitely a drier formula but they both work well at lengthening the lashes. I didn't notice any flaking and as for the waterproof claim, I don't wear mascara under water but both formulas have not run down my face or anything like that. Between the two, there really isn't much of a difference except for the fact that one is a bit drier. They both are very black and I find that both hold a curl for about the same amount of time.

Tuesday, April 2, 2013

Rimmel: Kate Moss Lasting Finish Lipstick #17

Shade #17 is a nice mid-toned pink, perfect for everyday wear. I love pinks like this because they go with any make up look and really require no thought. It is a warmer pink which I usually don't like, but I find this to be very wearable and a great pinky nude.

This color apparently came out as part of the Spring 2012 collection. However, at the Walgreens I purchased it at, it was advertised as a new shade. As many make up brands release in the US first before releasing overseas, Rimmel releases products in the UK first before releasing them here in the states. (Is anyone else waiting for the Apocalips to release here?! Hurry up Rimmel!)

Friday, March 29, 2013

Maybelline: Colorsensational Vivids in Vivid Rose

Oh Em Gee...I freakin love this lipstick! Bright Magenta goodness is Vivid Rose in a nutshell. The color is super pigmented, bright, but very wearable and not garish at all. The formula of these lipsticks are also great. They aren't drying, have great staying power, and no off putting scent. There is a great color range and although some of the pinks are not exact dupes, if you were ever interested in MAC's Pink Pigeon or Candy Yum Yum, this line is a great affordable alternative. I found at regular price, these lipsticks were cheaper at Walmart (where I purchased mine) and Target compared to all the other drugstores. Of course drugstores usually have some deal going on, so you should definitely take advantage when Maybelline is on sale and pick up some of these vivid amazingnesses.  I definitely need more of these in my life!

Now bask in the glory of that which is called Vivid Rose!

Monday, March 25, 2013

NYC: Smooch Proof 16HR Lip Stain

Wow, I just noticed this is my 3rd post about lip stains in less than a week! So I raved in my previous two posts: Revlon Balm Stain and L'OREAL Wet Shine Stain about how much I really liked those products, so let's see how this product faired.

As I mentioned before, I'm not a big fan of marker type lip stains. I've tried affordable and high end ones and I've never been impressed to the point that I wanted to try more. About a month ago, I was at Rite Aid and noticed that NYC was buy one get one free (aka a deal you should never pass up). NYC is one of the drugstore brands that I'm least familiar with as I've only tried one.. maybe  two products from the brand. I saw that the lip stains were running scarce and figured people must like them if there aren't that many left.

They retail for $4.99 and with the promo going on, even if I hate them, I was only out $5. I picked up two colors: Forever Fuchsia and Forever Freesia.

These marker type lip stains claim the following (taken from NYC's website):

  • Color lasts up to 16 hours
  • Will not transfer, rub off or smear, even when eating or drinking
  • Lightweight formula, bare lip feel, matte finish
  • Precise and even application
  • Allows you to build color
So let me break it down real quick about the claims and my experience with the product.

Friday, March 22, 2013

L'OREAL: Colour Caresse Wet Shine Stain

I finally got around to trying the notorious dupe for the YSL Glossy Stains that I have been hearing about for months now! I don't own any YSL Glossy Stains and the most I have had in contact with them is swatching them on my hand a long time ago at Sephora, so I'll have to take everyone's word for it. What did intrigue me though, was the fact that a lip product that costs $10 rivals a high end product going for $34! (I mean let's face it, those are always the best finds!)

I remembered seeing these when they first came out and thought the packaging was really nice, the applicator looked interesting, and there was a nice selection of pinks (my fave!). Months went by and I never purchased them because I just thought they were a lip gloss...nothing special and I have so many already, I don't need anymore.

Then a coupon popped up in my email I think, $2 off a L'OREAL lip product. So I did what any responsible shopper would do. I bought something I didn't need, and told myself the coupon justifies the purchase. Right?! No?! Whatever.

So I picked up Pink Rebellion which from the package looked like a hot magenta color. Totally right up my alley. I have to admit though, I was not a big fan that these do not come sealed...who knows what people do with them or where their hands have been. Hello, germ fest! Anyways, I picked the one that looked the least tampered with and I'm happy to report no herpes...yet.

Wednesday, March 20, 2013

Revlon: Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain

Let's just cut to the chase, Revlon you've done did it again in the lip department! I am lovin' the Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stains! I purchased Honey and Cherish and it's the only lip products I have been wearing since I purchased them!

In general I'm a fan of lip stains in theory, but I've tried numerous marker type lip stains (including Revlon's Just Bitten Lipstain + Balm) and I'm still not big on them. For me, the formula of the marker type stains always fade in the most random places on my lips. They also go on weird on me: either really streaky or leave my lips looking like I've used red food coloring to stain my lips. I don't know if any of that makes sense but my point is, I don't like it. What makes this stain nice is the formula; the fact that they are a creamy "balm" consistency allows them to apply more evenly to the lips than most of the marker type stains I have tried. These balm stains remind me a lot of Revlon's beloved Lip Butters but in chubby stick form which makes them even easier to use. They have a mint scent which is not overpowering so I actually find it quite nice and refreshing. They also require no sharpening which is great! The two I tried had a surprising amount of pigmentation which again is reminiscent of the Lip Butters. As far as lasting power, I can get a good 3 hours of wear before I reapply again and that's with drinking and eating. Again, the chubby stick makes it so easy to apply that I never use a mirror when reapplying. Bonus points for major convenience!

Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Rimmel: Kate Moss Lasting Finish Lipsticks

From L-R: #103, #110, #06, #10

I haven't been to Walgreens in a hot minute so I was shocked when I was there about a week ago and saw that all Kate Moss Lasting Finish lipsticks were 50% OFF! Yes, you read that right...50% off! Originally $5.79, which is not a bad price to begin with, $2.89 is a freaking steal! I've always wanted to try these lipsticks and what better time to do so. I'm not sure how long they are running this promo but I do know that all Rimmel is 50% until Saturday, 3/16, so it's a great time to buy!

The selection was a bit scarce at my local Walgreens but I picked up a few colors that weren't destroyed by someone previously mangling with the product. (I know you have come across those lipsticks that looks like someone half bit it/used it to draw like a 3 yr. old would..ugh.)

Wednesday, March 6, 2013

Review: CoverGirl Outlast Stay Fabulous 3 in 1 Foundation

After hearing all the rave reviews about this foundation, I had to see what the hype was all about. I purchased mine at Rite Aid for $12.79 but I know the price ranges from about $10-$13 depending on where you purchase it. I purchased 842-Medium Beige and for reference I am an NC 35 at MAC. I have combo to oily skin and a lot of acne scarring/discoloration, so a medium to full coverage foundation is what I look for. I currently use Revlon ColorStay and am very happy with the performance of that foundation and haven't felt the need to try any other drugstore foundations. So what made me bite the bullet and give this a try? I heard a few people say this foundation has replaced their Revlon Colorstay! Say what?! 10 mins later I'm in my car on a mission to get this in my possession.

So what did I think?

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...